‘Dirty’ ribeye steak and chips

On our way back from a wonderful trip away seeing friends in Cornwall, Norfolk and Rutland, we stopped in Olney so Lizzie could restock our shop, Pannacotta, before I whisked us all off to the butcher to find something for supper. Since it was BBQ Week, I knew that I would be cooking on the Joe – and it should be no surprise that once I had laid eyes upon a beautifully aged ribeye I immediately knew what I was going to do – 31 day aged ribeye steaks, cooked ‘dirty’ style right on the charcoals.

Having picked up the steaks, we grabbed some organic potatoes, baby leaf salad and vine tomatoes – I knew we had chilli, garlic, parsley and chives all at home already.

A few hours later, having had a good run around and play with Guy after the long drive down, I got ready to cook. I was planning to do something similar to the roast beef with a ‘dirty’ sear I did the other day, searing in the charcoal and basting half way through.

Wow, an hour or so later we had a beautifully cooked, medium rare steak with a stunning flavour and a lovely charred edge. A perfect way to revive ourselves after a lengthy journey on the road!

P1180049

Thanks again to my wife for the beautiful photography – Pannacotta London.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

Aged ribeye steaks (get at least 28 day aged steaks if you can, they are more expensive but the difference is worth it)

For the baste:

1 fresh chilli, 1 garlic clove, pinch of parsley, pinch of chives, tsp salt, tsp pepper, 40g butter.

For the chips:

organic potatoes, cut into 1/2 cm slices, 1 tbsp coconut oil.

For the side salad:

baby leaf salad, vine tomatoes, balsamic vinegar, hemp oil.

Method:

Take your steaks out of the fridge and leave them to come up to room temperature.

P1170800

Meanwhile, light up your bbq and bring it up to 200C. I used two firelighters this time round to ensure I had an even cook.

P1170713

Throw the chips into a pan of boiling water for 5 minutes – I find I get better results if I par-boil the potatoes first. When done, drain and pat dry.

P1170726

Add the coconut oil to a large bbq proof ceramic dish, and place on the bbq to heat up. When it’s hot, add the potatoes and season with salt and pepper. I find it works best if there is only 1 layer.

P1170753

Place on the Joe with a ceramic plate underneath – cooking the chips indirectly. I laid some tin foil underneath to protect the bottom of the dish.

P1170909

After 20 minutes, shake the dish to move the chips around and place back on the grill.

To make the baste, add all the ingredients to a mixer – I used my thermomix which allowed me to heat the butter while it mixed but if you don’t have one, melt the butter first.

P1170836P1170841

When the chips are beginning to turn golden – after roughly 35 minutes cooking time, throw your steaks onto the hot coals and close the lid.

P1170863P1170926P1170942

After 3 minutes, turn the steaks over knocking off any charcoal chunks. Brush the marinade on top of the steaks and close the lid. We wanted our steaks medium rare, so adjust your timing accordingly.

P1170965P1170970

3 minutes later they should be done.

P1170953P1170968

Leave to rest in a warm place for at least 10 minutes.

When the chips are golden take them off the Joe – we like them slightly crispy.

P1170879

To serve, throw a handful of baby leaves and some sliced tomatoes onto each plate. Add a steak and chips and drizzle a little balsamic/hemp oil mix on the salad. Add any remaining marinade if you want extra flavour – we didn’t need it.

P1180042P1180084

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “‘Dirty’ ribeye steak and chips

Leave a Reply

