Beef Short Ribs

Yesterday I finally got round to having a go at cooking what is a staple for long slow bbq’ing: beef short ribs. It is something that I have wanted to do ever since I got the Big Joe but I’ve never been quite organised enough.It was the first time I’d ever ‘smoked’ something on the bbq. I cooked the turkey on it last Christmas over 5 hours but that was still a roast. Added to that, this time I wasn’t using deflector plates and was again ‘banking’ the coals on one side. So a lot of new techniques for me, and I was hugely grateful for all the help I received from Marcus Bawdon (@devonwoodsmoke).

Thank goodness I also had my wonderful wife on hand for all the photography and getting some decent snaps of the process.

P1140243

Ingredients:

2 or 4 beef short ribs (Jacob’s ladder)

marmite

butter

salt and pepper

splash of whatever beer you have to hand

bbq sauce

Method:

I bought my 4 rib Jacob’s Ladder from a local butcher. They cook best as a 2 rib and since it was only myself, my wife and baby boy trying it out I thought that would be all that was necessary. So, having sharpened my knife, I spent a messy few minutes cutting the ladder in half before rubbing it with an 80/20 marmite/butter mix and seasoning liberally with salt and pepper. The other half was popped in the freezer.

P1130709P1130738P1130723

It was then time to light up the Big Joe. I used a generous half load of charcoal, lit with Big Green Egg firelightersI have tried lots of different ways of lighting the Joe, most recently with the BGE firelighters – they’re the easiest to get hold of and very quick to order online.

Once lit I banked them to once side and settled the Joe around 120C. I had the bottom vent open a centimetre and the daisy wheel about a 1/4 turn.

I placed the short ribs onto a grill plate set at the top rung of the Kamado Divide and Conquer on the opposite side of the Joe from the coals (indirect cooking). Before closing the lid I threw a couple of apple chunks onto the smoking charcoal for a bit of extra flavour.

P1130747

After 4 hours, with the meat smelling and looking amazing, it was time to take it off the grill, wrap it in foil, add a splash of beer and then throw it back on the bbq.

P1130905P1130909P1130943P1130969

2 hours later, with the smell wafting through the window, it was again time to check on the ribs. The knife test went pretty well – it slid through the meat like butter. Brushed with homemade bbq sauce they were placed back on the grill for a bit longer.

P1140167

Thirty minutes later, this is what they looked like.

P1140141

All they needed was 10 minutes of resting while my wife threw together a quick salad with tomatoes, avocado, parmesan and a dressing of balsamic vinegar and hemp oil.

P1140211P1140218P1140254P1140249Beef ribs

Wow, they were everything and more, even better than they looked…suffice it to say, I will be trying this recipe again.

Even my son had a few bites!

P1140146P1140173P1140189P1140200P1140261P1140360P1140355P1140334P1140269P1140316

 

7 thoughts on “Beef Short Ribs

  1. These look amazing ! Your pics are absolutely stunning. Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Also, thank you for stopping by at my blog, Lynne’s Recipe Trails. I am looking forward to visiting your blog in more depth. Have a wonderful day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

